Rowsley 86

About the club

Rowsley '86 are an amateur side currently playing in the Central Midlands South, with a reserves team in the Premier Division of the Midlands Regional Alliance


Founded in 1981 as Duke William FC. (the Dukes)

They competed in the Matlock and District football league for two seasons, winning the league championship on both occasions, playing home games at Cavendish Park, Matlock.

The club entered the Hope Valley Football League in 1983/84 winning the "B" division at the first attempt.

The Dukes then became known as Horseshoe Matlock (the Shoes) for one season before finally becoming Rowsley 86 in 1986. (the Millers). This was due to ground relocation, making their home at the Recreation Ground, Rowsley.

Success was continued in the hope valley football league winning the Premier Division four seasons back to back. 1987/88,1988/89,1989/90 and 1990/91.

After also securing the Derbyshire Divisional Cup North in 1990/91 “86” entered the Midland Regional Alliance to further their horizons and duly won the first division at a canter, also finishing runners up in the MRA challenge cup in the process.

In 1994/95 “86” again won the Derbyshire Divisional Cup (North) and finished a creditable fourth in the MRA premier division.

Season 1995/96 saw “86” finish runners up in the MRA premier division and in the 1996/97 season achieved their ambition of winning the premier division.

The MRA premiership was secured again in 2006/07, 2008/09, 2014/15, 2016/17 and 2017/18.

The Derbyshire Divisional Cup North was also won in 2016/17 and the MRA supplementary cup in 2017/18

Rowsley “86” applied and was accepted into the Central Midlands league this season 2018/19, finishing runners up in division 1 south and also runners up in the county cup. Promotion was achieved and a solid 5th placed position and a cup semi-final place was scuppered by the Covid-19 pandemic


Matlock & District League 1981/82, 1982/83

Matlock & District League Supplementary Cup 1981/82

Matlock & District League Tarmac Shield 1982/83

Matlock & District League Cavendish Cup 1982/83

Hope Valley League B Division 1983/84

Hope Valley League Premier Division 1987/88, 1988/89, 1989/90, 1990/91

Hope Valley League Hall Trophy 1983/84

Hope Valley League Knockout Cup 1987/88, 1989/90

Hope Valley League Lawrence Cup 1989/90

Hope Valley League Dore Shield 1986/87

MRA Premier Division 1996/97, 2006/07, 2008/09, 2014/15, 2016/17, 2017/18

MRA Division One 1991/92

MRA Challenge Cup 2017/18

DCFA Divisional Cup North 1990/91, 1994/95, 2014/15, 2015/16


MRA Division One 2013/14

MRA Division Two 2010/11

MRA Division One Cup 2017/18

DCFA Junior Cup North 2012/13, 2016/17